“I’m going home, back to the place where I belong…” And I’m sure many of you know the song.

That about sums it up, which annoys me. Not because I’m going home, but because once again a rather cheesy song from an American Idol participant nicely sums up where I’m at in life. I don’t even watch American Idol.

I’m originally from northwest Indiana, but a little over a year ago I decided to move to Arizona. I felt like I was stuck in a rut in every area of my life, and I wanted a change. Well, I got one! It’s been a hard year in so many ways, but I don’t regret my decision to move here. I’m remembering the good times, learning from the bad, and taking it all home with me. There are a lot of factors in my decision to go home, but the biggest one is that I’ve discovered I don’t like being quite so far from my family.

Home isn’t going to be the same though. My parents moved since I came to Arizona, and to be honest I’m not sure how to get to their house. Some of my best friends have moved away.  I’m pretty sure the Jen who is heading back to Indiana isn’t the same one who moved here last July too.

The question I’ve been asked the most is “Won’t you miss the weather here?” And the answer is no. I’m looking forward to a winter where everything freezes properly and I get a break from my allergies.

The trip will take about three days. I love road trips, so I’m looking forward to that. I am taking my adopted kitties, and they hate to ride in the car so I’m not looking forward to that. I did buy them aromatherapy collars and they’re all passed out right now, so hopefully they’ll sleep through the trip.

My mom and my sister are coming out here to help me drive home. Wish us luck. It will either be the best road trip of our lives, or the worst road trip of our lives. When the trip is over and I’m back home I’ll let you know which it was.

 

